Nanny Payroll and Tax Information and News
Back to all Articles
Paid Sick Time - New Laws for Households: Part 1: California
June 30, 2015
In 2014, California passed laws regarding mandatory, paid sick leave. Paid sick time is a benefit that is common in many household employment arrangements, but it is generally not addressed specifically by state or federal laws. California has enacted an Earned Sick Time Law to address paid sick time and it impacts most domestic workers.
The CA Earned Sick Time Law goes into effect July 1, 2015. The provisions of this law are as follows:
- An employer shall provide 1 hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked by each employee.
- An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in CA for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment is entitled to paid sick leave.
- An employee begins accruing sick time on the first day of employment, or July 1, 2015—whichever is later.
- Employees may use accrued paid sick time beginning on the 90th day of employment.
- An employee earns 1 hour for every 30 hours worked, but employers can limit the amount of paid sick time an employee can take in one year to 24 hours or three days.
- An employee taking paid sick time will be paid at the employee’s regular wage rate.
- An employee may carry over unused earned sick time to the next calendar year, with the total accrued not to exceed 48 hours or six days.
- Employers are not required to pay out unused earned sick time upon separation of employment.
If an employer has a different sick time policy in place which exceeds the minimum requirements of this new law, they are not required to make any changes.
If you or your employee has any questions about this new law, please let us know!