Nanny Payroll and Tax Information and News
Back to all Articles
Paid Sick Time - New Laws for Households: Part 2: Massachusetts
June 30, 2015
In 2014, Massachusetts passed laws regarding mandatory, paid sick leave. Paid sick time is a benefit that is common in many household employment arrangements, but it is generally not addressed specifically by state or federal laws. Massachusetts has enacted an Earned Sick Time Law to address paid sick time and it impacts most domestic workers.
The MA Earned Sick Time Law goes into effect July 1, 2015. The provisions of this law are as follows:
- An employer shall provide 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked by each employee.
- An employee begins accruing sick time on the date of hire, or July 1, 2015—whichever is later.
- Employees may not use earned sick time until the 90th calendar day from the date of hire. After the 90th day, an employee may use sick time as it accrues.
- An employee may earn/use up to 40 hours of sick time per year.
- An employer with under 11 employees is not required to pay for the sick time taken.
- An employee may carry over up to 40 hours of unused earned sick time to the next calendar year, but are not entitled to use more than 40 hours during a calendar year.
- Employers are not required to pay out unused earned sick time upon separation of employment.
If an employer has a different sick time policy in place which exceeds the minimum requirements of this new law, they are not required to make any changes.
If you or your employee has any questions about this new law, please let us know!